Author Topic: Hello from Northern Utah!  (Read 4196 times)

b5.5dan

Hello from Northern Utah!
« on: June 06, 2011, 06:00:12 PM »
Hello all! I've been lurking around for a while... I thought I had an account but my log-in wouldn't work. I know I wasn't sanctioned, because I'm always on my best behavior.  :wink: Anyway...
My name is Dan, and I'm a high school teacher here in Ogden, UT. I've only been shooting for about 4 months, but I got bit by the bug hard. This CZ 83 was my first firearm (I've acquired a "couple" more since then), and I have loved it.

Anyway, I tried to log in to try and find out why the Ol' Girl gave me an 85% FTF/stovepipe at the range today, so I'm off to look around. In any event, I hope to get to know the fine people here, and someday being able to contribute. Thanks a lot!

Dan

Offline GhostWarrior

• I'm very humble, you can ask me.
  • Administrator
  • Benefactor & Life Member NRA
Re: Hello from Northern Utah!
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 10:00:38 PM »
 b5.5dan
      Welcome to the Forum! Most everyone bets the "Bug" after getting a chance to shoot any CZ, lol so we are glad to have someone else join the party. We love having new members. And that is a very nice pistol you have, I have the 82 version and it's not only fun to shoot it makes a great pocket weapon, or backup. Why you got so many FTF/Stove Pipes I am not sure. Did you change ammunition (some new mfg. possibly) this time out? About the only thing I can think of to cause repeated problems is either there is something wrong with the ammunition, but more likely there is a problem with your firing pin and or spring.
           I believe someone with more experience with an 83 and or knowledge of gun smiting in general can help you better. We have a bunch of great folks here happy to help and a lot smarter than I am. (Actually according to my wife our cat is smarter than I am  :laugh: ).