Author Topic: New P07 first 200rds  (Read 4520 times)

Offline 1200R

• Photos
New P07 first 200rds
« on: March 23, 2015, 12:24:49 AM »
Hello.  First post after reading and researching the P07 on this site.  Thank you for this site.  I am somewhat new to shooting (been a couple of decades!).  Did my research and decided to go with the CZ P07.  Went out today for the first time with a highly experienced friend and fired 200 rds.  Used a target with numbered black circles placed 10' out.  First two shots were inside the #1 circle, surprised me, literally, with both shots as I didn't know when the gun would fire.  Then I got to thinking and holding the gun firmer, don't ask me why, and I was off by four to six inches low and to the left, shot after shot, hitting numbers I wasn't even aiming for, pretty bad! 

I then tried my friends 1911 and the same thing, not even close.  He advised me to try to recreate the hold and motion of my first two shots.  I went through about 75 rds and then I realized I was gripping it too tight.  The way I realized that is I shot my friends compact Glock and I couldn't get a great grip on it with its short grip and was able to place my two shots on target.  I went back to my gun and target with a relaxed grip and concentrated on pulling the trigger uniformly back and success!  Made for a much better remainder of my range time!  The gun seems quite accurate when properly fired!  I started to really enjoy it.