Author Topic: Pre-"BAN"? CZ-75  (Read 8845 times)

Hermannr

Pre-"BAN"? CZ-75
« on: June 01, 2011, 04:10:13 PM »
Please excuse my ignorance, but I have never heard of a "Ban" on the CZ-75.  Could someone please enlighten me?  I would really like a CZ-75 to go with my CZ-52, but I have never heard of a "Ban"????? :huh:

Offline ACZONE

Re: Pre-"BAN"? CZ-75
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 07:22:45 PM »
I am not an expert but I believe it is a PRE B, the B referring to the Firing Pin Block addition in the new versions

Hermannr

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2011, 11:22:56 AM »
Thank you

Offline GhostWarrior

• I'm very humble, you can ask me.
  • Administrator
  • Benefactor & Life Member NRA
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2011, 04:06:21 PM »

Well actually The CZ 75 was imported into the US for a very short time day in the early-mid 80's. The US Ban their import into the US and for a while you couldn't buy a CZ anywhere in the US unless it was brought in by a returning US Citizen (US Military mostly) and then put up for sale for whatever reason. (BTW point of fact any firearm brought into the US by private Citizens will not have an Import mark anywhere on them since they did not come in as a commercial product, which is what folks mean when they say no import marks) Anyway back to the topic at hand.
      During the time the CZ was in the Banned import list, the CZ Factory did some modifications to the original, There are actually 3 Interim CZ75's designs changes during that time the final version being designated as the CZ75 B for next Generation. So when they were allowed back into to US for commercial sale the only CZ's were CZ75 B's for the simply reason they one longer made the original model. Therefore there is what is referred to as a CZ75 Pre Ban or CZ 75B (take your pick here, not everyone agrees about how to say the difference between the two models).