Author Topic: Total noobie... many questions - hope I can get some help !  (Read 3142 times)

Ummagumma

Total noobie... many questions - hope I can get some help !
« on: September 22, 2011, 08:27:49 PM »
First off, I apologize for posting some questions that are probably very basic.

I do not own a gun and never owned one, although shot some in the past.

I finally decided to get a handgun, mainly for target shooting - and I need some help with getting one.

My price range is about $400-500. I want a 9mm gun, and after a lot of internet research narrowed it down to CZ75 series. A friend of mine has a Beretta but it seems the CZ's are equally good, and slightly cheaper.

So, a few questions...

What difference is there between CZ75B, Compact, and PCP ? I understand the design differences, but what is the diff in accuracy, reliability, effective range, shooting characteristics, etc . ? The only one I held in my hand was Compact, which felt heavy-ish (in a good way). I assume the longer barrel of 75B would produce a higher muzzle veloicity, and being heavier it would have less recoil ? Right now I am sort of torn between the 75B and Compact.

What is a good place to buy them ? What's a good price ? It seems that around $520 is a going internet price for Compact, and 75B is a bit cheaper. ADDED: CZCustom.com has the Compact listed at $462 and is taking reservations, are they reputable ? This seems like a nice price - is it ?

What should I expect to pay a local dealer to process the internet order ? One shop quoted $40, and there was an online ad from a guy who said he's only charging $15, is it too good to be true ?

Anything to watch out for (other than store ratings) ? This is my first gun purchase so I know next to nothing.

Appreciate any help !
« Last Edit: September 22, 2011, 08:33:49 PM by Ummagumma »

Offline GhostWarrior

• I'm very humble, you can ask me.
  • Administrator
  • Benefactor & Life Member NRA