Author Topic: New member with a couple of questions.  (Read 9794 times)

pdhntr

New member with a couple of questions.
« on: August 26, 2011, 11:58:55 PM »
Greetings.

I will try to keep this short.  I have some experience with rifles, I have been building custom stocks for quite a few years, and within the past year purchased a lathe and just finished building a wildcat 6mm-06 that is shooting very well. 

But I don't know much about pistols.  With Wi. going CC I purchased a CZ-82 from a local gunsmith and he said he had fixed the slide stop spring.  Well, it fell out today.  I really don't want to go back to him with this.   I would rather fix it myself.

From my research, it seems as though CZ-83 parts are the same as the 82.

Is that correct?  And can these parts still be purchased from CZ?

Thanks for any information.

Jim
« Last Edit: August 27, 2011, 08:17:59 AM by pdhntr »

pdhntr

Re: New member with a couple of questions.
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2011, 10:04:46 AM »
Never mind.

I made a spring and fixed it myself.

Jim

american lockpicker

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2011, 11:21:54 AM »
How did you make a spring?

pdhntr

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2011, 06:46:30 PM »
I used some round spring stock I had from an AR-15 magazine I shortened.  There are heavy springs in some mags and lighter ones in others.  The smaller diameter (lighter) fit the hole in the release but I had to thin it ever so slightly and bend it, to fit around the pin and into the recess in the trigger guard.

It is a little on the stiff side, but after adjusting it works very well and I am sure I won't have to replace that again.

Jim

b5.5dan

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2011, 07:17:27 PM »
First of all, Welcome to CZ Forum!